A Fabulous Chili Recipe—thanks to my friend Bobbi–my–topic#240

Now that it is football seasons, thoughts often turn to wings and chili. Here is a recipe for chili that is quick to throw together and is absolutely delicious. My good friend (and fellow football fanatic Bobbi) passed it on to me before she moved away. I think of her every time we make it.

Touchdown Italian Chili
1 pkg Italian Sausage (grill and cut in slices)–set aside

Saute  these ingredients in 3 Tablespoons olive oil in a soup kettle until tender
1 cup chopped onions
1 Tablespoon minced garlic
3 ribs celery cut in 1/2″ pieces
1 each large yellow, red and green peppers cut in 1″ pieces

Add the following ingredients to the soup pot:

3- 14.5 ounce cans of Italian stewed tomatoes
1 can dark red kidney beans (16 ounce)
1 can butter beans or cannalli beans 915 ounce)
1 can tomato paste (6 ounce)
1 small can drained sliced black olives
1/4 cup cream sherry (optional)
1- Tablespoon fresh basil–or substitute dried basil
a teaspoon and a half of baking cocoa (yes, seriously!)
1/2 to 1 teaspoon ground pepper.

Then stir in the slices of sausage.

After combining everything in the soup kettle, bring to boil. Then cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

If you like you can sprinkle with cheese or serve with sour cream.

This chili is not only incredibly tasty–but has gorgeous eye appeal to boot if you use the three colors of peppers.

 

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

