To be a Courageous Leader–Try This

What does it take to be a good leader and whose job is it to lead? We are each born to lead in some way. I have been reading the book Beyond Talent by John C. Maxwell. He addresses the concept of Courageous Leadership. He states on page 164 that Courageous Leadership means I have developed:
1. Convictions that are stronger than my fears;
2. Vision that is clearer than my doubts;
3. Spiritual sensitivity that is louder than public opinion;
4. Self-esteem that is deeper than self-protection;
5. Appreciation for discipline that is greater than my desire for leisure;
6. Dissatisfaction that is more forceful than the status quo;
7. Poise that is more unshakable than panic;
8. Risk taking that is stronger than safety seeking;
9. Right actions that are more robust than rationalization;
10. A desire to see potential reached more than people appeased.

I read this page and was given a moment of clarity. Each of these is so true….so essential to achieving excellence…so essential to making my corner of the world even better. I like the ‘vision that is clearer than my doubts’…sometimes I am plagued with doubt. I like the poise more unshakable than panic, too. I think today we forget the importance of poise and class. It used to be emphasized. I think exercising a little poise and grace under pressure could see us through these discouraging days.  i love the concept of unshakable poise. It reminds me of one of Rose Kennedy’s quotes “I shall not be vanquished”. Indeed!

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

