Try to think about nothing: what happens? Topic # 228

Try to think about nothing: what happens?.I did manage to think of nothing for a little bit. I was like stretching out on my back in a canoe and just floating. For awhile it was so relaxing it was like falling asleep. Before too long, though, my mind began to brainstorm and make lists. Why? I have been on a quest lately. I have been working through my files and reorganizing them, and going through belongings and paring down. This time of year I get ruthless about what I pare down. Why is that? I know the end of the year is coming. That means we start working on taxes and it also means that my students will need extra tutoring for midterms and finals. Thus I need to get out ahead of the curve. I truly cannot stand disorganization, clutter and dirt.  Every now and then I need to implement a new system. The types of files and belongings we have changes over time. Thus, the system changes along with it.

We have had a lot, I mean a lot, of medical visits this year. I needed a new tracking system for that ( for each of us, including the pets :-). Needed a new system for tracking the car repairs and services too. The old system (tossing in a file folder and forgetting about it) was inadequate. So now each person, pet, and car has a separate binder with dividers. it is already much easier to wade thru the info at an appt or if i am on th ephone with either a doctor, nurse, chef. mechanic, or whoever.

So while I was supposed to think about nothing, I figured out the final phases of organizing these binders and files. But I firmly believe the minutes of thinking about nothing was necessary to clear my mind. With my mind clearer I could finalize my system. Hooray for that—I had a great day as a result.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

