The Impulse to Create

The Impulse to Create.The impulse to create runs deep within me. I can suppress it for just so long and then it must come out. Sometimes it expresses itself in my writing or my ideas for stories or projecs. Sometimes it expresses itself in my card making or my scrapbooking. Sometimes it expresses itself in my quilt making. I love designing and assembling a quilt top. Each time I fall in love with it by the end. That makes it a little bit of a heart break when I do give the quilt away. They more often than not are created as a gift for someone special. With my busy schedule and health issues the last couple of years I have not taken the time to create a quilt.

In my bustling around and de-cluttering and organizing I set up a better area for sewing, card making and scrapbooking. Now when the creative muse is upon me and I don’t feel like writing or doing photography (my two current faves) I will have the freedom and space to sew, make cards, and scrapbook. I guess my mind hasn’t turned to my sewing as much since moving to AZ. I used to save that activity for cooler weather (late fall and winter). But we don’t get the really cold weather here and I am not housebound from snow and ice….so now I will have to just layer the sewing into my schedule!

I do have an impulse to create–whether it is to create new things or make an old space look new [by re-arranging furniture, re-purposing things, repainting walls, changing window treeatments, etc] I love to create. It makes me feel good. I get the same satisfaction in my tutoring—creating new pathways into students’ minds, finding new ways to explain things they aren’t quite understanding—-

My urge to create is consistent throughout my life. Life is good.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Writing and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

