Funny Limericks about the Heat in AZ

Right about now most of us in AZ (and many other places as well have about HAD it with hot weather, right? Well here in Phoenix in the Arizona Republic newspaper, a columnist named Clay Thompson runs an annual summetime limerick contest. Yesterday’s papers had the 3 runnersup and the winner (on page B14). You may pick a different one from these for the winner (I know I did ;-)). In any event, here they are:

this one is by Ron Halverson:
I guess I was just a loon
To go grocery shopping at noon
But I did and walked back
And on opening a sack
Found a plum had turned into a prune.

This one (my favorite) is by David Watt:
There was a young fella named Jones
Who greeted hot weather with groans,
And he said with a grin,
Think I’ll take off my skin
And just sit around in my bones.

This one is by Cynthia Kains:
She drove 20 miles in the heat
to get a tattoo that’s discreet.
She got back in the car
But before she got far
it had melted all over the seat.

This one was declared the winner, but the columnist admitted he closed his eyes and just picked one. It is by jennifer Allen:
At work they call me “The Bust.”
They tell me a bra is a must.
But when Phoenix is blazing
I ignore all the hazing.
That contraption just collects dust.

So there you have it–I wanted to be funny today—but am only up to borrowing funny thoughts…Does anyone have a funny clean limerick to share?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

