Postaday Post # 182: Write about your earliest memory

Write about your earliest memory. My earliest memory involves me, my mom, a nickle, a corner store and a popsicle…are you curious about what it could be? I thought so! When I was about 4 my family and I had been to see my grandparents. They lived a few miles away from us. My grandma or grandpa had given me a nickle. That was a princely sum back then–as you could still get penny candy. It was summertime and the next day it was warm and sunny outside. At the end of our long block was a little corner store, owned by someone in the neighborhood. I asked my mom if we could walk to the corner store so I could buy a popsicle with my nickel. My mom said ‘no, not today”.  As the afternoon progressed she was busy with some chores. I went to my room and got my nickel. I quietly opened the front door and walked down the steps. I headed straight to the corner store! I walked in, went to the case where the popsicles were and selected one. I took it to the cashier and gave him my nickel.

I walked over to the popsicle breaker, which was right next to the door to the store. I am not sure that is what it is called, but it is what it did. It was mounted on the wall and made of metal. It was open on one end. You put the popsicle (which was really 2 popsicles) in—sticks up. then you pushed the metal thing (popsicle and all) towards the wall. there was a long vertical metal piece there that cut the popsicle in half, all the while you hold the sticks.

As I pushed the contraption to the door, the door flew open. OOOPS! It was my mom. She took me by the hand and walked me home…..the popsicle and my nickel remained at the store…..my mom never said another word about it, and I never did such a thing again…

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

