Postaday topic #176: Find the nearest window. What’s the most interesting thing you see?

Topic #176:

Find the nearest window. Look outside. What is the most interesting thing you see? What is the least interesting thing? If you don’t have a window, close your eyes and imagine one: what do you see when you look through it?

The nearest window looks out across my patio and on into my back yard. On my patio are two huge (probably about 3+ feet high) planters containing large palm plants. Beyond those are some low boxwood hedges. Then there is the grassy yard. On the far side of the grassy area is the landscaped area containing various large bushes and a lovely palo verde tree.

It is the palo verde tree, hands down, that is the most interesting thing I see. It is a home to a myriad of songbirds and hummingbirds. The palo verde is dense and yet feathery looking. I will post a picture soon so that you can see it! Our yard is so very pretty to look at. You wouldn’t think that that is possible, since we live in the desert — we are in the phoenix area. If you have never been to this part of the country, it is difficult to believe how strikingly beautiful it truly is!

As far as closing my eyes and imagining another sight? I know exactly what I would pick: a wooden deck overlooking a quiet sandy beach, with the ocean on the far side of the deck…..seagulls swooping and laughing, pelicans hunting for fish, and sandpipers scampering up and down the beach.

If my special imagination skills are in high gear, I can almost smell the ocean!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

