Favorite beach activity: My own topic # 139

As a kid, I spent my summers on the Mississippi River with my family. We waterskied, we swam, we camped on sandbars. We had campfires—sometimes we did s’mores, but not usually. I loved awakening to the smell of bacon cooking in my dad’s cast iron skillet over the open fire. To this day it reminds me of the Gospel where Jesus was making fish over a fire on the shore for his apostles when they returned from their fishing expedition. This was shortly after His resurrection. They were overjoyed.

When I picture heaven, sometimes I picture the shore and everyone milling about waiting their turn to spend time with Jesus….the joyful anticipation in a beautiful, beautiful setting.

In my adult years I have lived near the Atlantic Ocean and spent many, many happy times by the shore. What do I like to do? Walk the shoreline, swim, watch the seagulls, climb the rocks on the rocky beaches, walk the sand on the sandy beaches…and I absolutely love skipping shells. When I lived near rivers and lakes, I would skip stones…loving it when i could get it to skip 6, 8, or more times. With seashells I can ALWAYS get them to skip. I love the constancy of the ocean. I love the sound and the smells. I love the laughing of the seagulls…..I love the feel of the sand under my feet and between my toes. It restores my soul, fills my heart and overwhelms me with beauty and joy.

 

 

Regardless, I love to walk by the ocean. In my adult years I spent many years out east—and spent a lot of time by the shore. So spectacularly beautiful…..what I love is to walk at the water’s edge. ….stand looking out to sea.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

