What makes you feel like you’re still a kid? Topic #138

What makes you feel like you’re still a kid? Sitting by a campfire and toasting marshmallows in preparation for making s’mores makes me feel like a kid. Skipping through puddles during a rainstorm makes me feel like a kid, too…..and oh yes! Watching the version of Peter Pan with mary Martin in it and clapping to make Tinkerbell live….

All of these things make me feel young and lighthearted. So does watching young pre-schoolers when they see Santa and reading the book The Giving Tree. I love to re-visit the things I enjoyed as a young girl. I am almost instantly back in those days in a sense but with an even deeper appreciation for the experience that is being revisited.

Music takes me back, too. The song Puff the Magic Dragon takes me right back to my high school days—and so does all kinds of other folk music….and CS&N and Carole King, and james Taylor and Simon and Garfunkel and the Beatles (of COURSE)…What is it about music that is such a total and complete touchstone? I can remember what it felt like to be back in those times. my heart instantly journeys back… I can almost physically see the friends I whiled away my time with when I hear the songs. I can re-experience being with friends I haven’t seen in years just listening to the music.

I miss those days although I am completely happy in this day and time as well.

Yes—I think music takes me back more than anything….

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

