How do you decide who to be friends with? Topic # 136

How do you decide who to be friends with? I have moved many times in my life and beyond that have redefined myself a few additional times beyond that. What do I mean by redefined myself? No, I do not develop an alias. However, at different stages of my life, different activities and pursuits or of interest to me. When my son was tiny, it was important to be able to socialize with like-minded stay -at-home moms that were still intent on intellectual pursuits and activities geared toward changing the world. When my son entered school, PTa, Scouts, and various family church activities drew me there. In both of these examples the friends I chose were ones that were moving at this same life stage and were of like mind. I wasn’t joining the Junior League or the D.A.R. Not saying I wouldn’t have befriended someone in those groups—but i might not have encountered them.

At this point my friends continue to uplift, inspire, and love me; they challenge me and correct me when it is needed. They accept me and build a trust relationship with me. Because they take the time and dedication to do that, I do that too. In some cases they lead, in some cases I lead. I am much more aware of how quickly time flies and I try very hard to extend my time and heart whenever I can. I believe God has me cross paths with specific people for specific reasons. I decide to be friends with someone when the ‘fit’ is right. When it is totally right it is magical. Breathtakingly so at times…I thank God every day for my blessings.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

