Postaday topic #101: What would change if you were president for a day?

Alternative Topic #101:(from topic #103 on 4/20)

What would you do differently if you were president or Prime Minister of your country for a day? I would go on national television and appeal to the nation, asking everyone who is willing to contribute to paying down the national debt to email in a pledge. i would ESPECIALLY appeal to: the movie industry (including Sean Penn et al), the music industry (including Barbra Streisand et al), environmentalists (including al gore and bill clinton), professional sports, the television industry, ted turner, warren buffet, and bill gates. I would ask each of them to spearhead a fundraising effort for people in their industries. Furthermore, I would challenge everyone in these industries to voluntarily pay extra taxes just because they want to improve things. Since many people in these industries have been highly critical of the wealthy and ‘protected industries’ i assume they would be eager to pay additional taxes even if Congress never gets around to raising taxes or reducing spending.

Then I would challenge every former congressperson and senator to permantly forgo their pension and benefits, putting all of THAT money into the paydown of the national debt. Last, I would challenge every sitting politician in Washington to forgo their salary and benefits, putting the money into the paydown….that is all!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

