Postaday topic #96: Write about bacon

I suppose if I wanted to impress you with my healthy lifestyle I would blog that I don’t eat bacan or anything like it. I would expound on the fact that there are less than wonderful things about bacon. Or perhaps i would write a clever limerick or poem about bacon, or even call myself the baconator! But I am not going to do any of those things.

Instead I am going to tell you a memory I have about bacon when I was a child. When I was growing up my family would boat on the Mississippi River in MN in the summers, and we would take our vacations there as well. We would camp on the sandbars, which were islands of sand and trees on the river. We would bring a couple of tents, pitch them on the sand, build our campfires and cook on both the campfire and the stove. Dad always had his cast iron pan along. Every morning we awakened in our sleeping bags to the scent of bacon frying over the campfire. WOW did that smell good. As the bacon and eggs cooked dad would holler at us to get up and go for a swim before breakfast. We’d get up, throw our suits on and run down to the water for a swim. By the time breakfast was ready we were ravenous! I must say that there is nothing quite like breakfast on the beach.

Which leads me to my aha moment. Shortly after the Resurrection, the gospel tells us that Jesus was on the shore cooking fish on the campfire when the apostles came ashore from fishing. I am sure that they (like we) could smell the food cooking from a distance. When I awaken to breakfast on the beach I think of the apostles’ post-resurrection meal with the Lord and say….it is good!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in food and recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

