Postaday topic #95: What rare talent do you have that most people don’t know about

I would imagine that some of the people reading this blog have many wonderful talents: singers, dancers, crafters, handypersons, birdwatchers, puzzlesolvers, jeopardy-ites, instrument players…..Well, I have some of those talents, most definitely. But many people that know me already know that about me. The talent i am going to describe is more of an oddity than a true talent, but perhaps it will win me an award for most unusual talent of the month.
The talent has to do with my ballet classes when I was a child. The teacher I had taught us to exercise and stretch our feet and ankles (along with stretching our legs). She knew that the best chance we would have to not injure or harm our young muscles was to stretch and strengthen. To prepare ourselves for dancing on our toes in toe shoes, we would face the barre, turn our right foot to the right and then do this move where we were leaning on our right foot while it is turned under, toes and all, putting some weight on it. I didn’t describe it very well, but we would do that 20 times (pushing on the foot with our weight 20 times before putting the foot down again. Then the same on the left. We would do this slowly and deliberately probably 20-25 times. Then we would do the samt thing on the left. As a result, to this day i can do that with my feet while I sit on the couch or stand by the counter.

Besides that, i can stand on my tucked under feet. that is the talent i alluded to—and it comes in handy because it really grosses my brothers out 😉

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

