Postaday my own topic: Ripples

Have you ever skipped stones in a lake or river? Those of you have been to an ocean, have you ever skipped shells in the ocean? i would bet that almost everyone has at some point. When you do, each time the stone or shell touches the water it makes a splash and creates ripples. Those ripples move outward from the source of impact. Ouch, Miss Noel would shudder at that last sentence. Nevertheless I will natter on 😉 !

Our lives touch others. In the movie It’s a Wonderful Life, George Bailey spends much of his life doing the right thing, putting others first, and taking care of people. Yet he feels his life has been somehow wasted. In the crowning moment of the movie the entire town comes together to prove to George just how much he has meant to them. Most everyone that watches the movie weeps profusely at this scene. I know I do! It is important to be at least slightly aware that your life is helpful and meaningful to someone. To believe otherwise gradually snuffs out your own light.

There are times when we wonder how our lives would have been if we had taken a different path…..would we be rich? Popular? Respected? Appreciated? Famous? Of course, wondering this too much can make us bitter. I am reminded of a scene near the end of the Thorn Birds. Megghie has grown bitter because her life didn’t give her Fr. Ralph. All around her is beauty and loving sacrifice….her husband, her brothers, her children….Drogheda….she has wasted her life in bitterness, envy, regrets….and not seen the love that was bestowed upon her….I vowed to not end up like her. I mustn’t go down the path of wondering what life would be like if I had had the path I thought was perfect…..I must avoid the if onlys. Why? Because I have to trust that God has placed me upon the path that is truly perfect for me. He really, really has….I know that! Even though at times that path has had it’s share of sorrow and grief—I have had more than my share of joys!

worry and fear can eat me up inside if I let it.  That is why I try to gird myself with the armour of my faith. If I cast my worries into Jesus’ arms and rejoice in the love around me and the blessings I do have, my fear of the unknown is reduced. I try to recall the times and moments when loved ones have expressed their feelings about me and my life…..I try to realistically remember how much people have said I do mean to them. It is important to hang onto that! The devil wants to fill us with negativity and self-doubt. It interrupts our tendency to develop a faithful praising spirit.

Today when I am overwhelmed with nonspecific sorrow I am hanging on to my faith. I am hanging on to my imagery of my ripples touching others. I am remembering I am having a wonderful life…even though I feel a bit down today. I rejoice in the resurrection. I am grateful for family and friends. I am thankful for a lifetime of blessings….I am a perennial optimist.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

