Don’t Get Me Wrong

Now you may think I never get down, discouraged, upset or ticked. Nothing could be further from the truth, actually. The end of December I came down with Bell’s Palsy. I was constantly dizzy and nauseous, and as I said, half of my face was paralyzed. I am a tutor, and I had to sto working for a number of weeks. This added to my stress as the medical bills mounted (copays and deductibles) while our family income dropped without my income….I felt like a loser. I couldn’t exercise, and I didn’t sleep well. I couldn’t eat much at all. I was constantly running to various doctors. Believe me, I spent more time at doctors offices in the first 2 months of 2011 than I have in probably 10 years.

Yep–I have been blessed with years of robust health. Even still in the final few months of 2010 I had permitted life and people to stress me out….as a result I lost my good health.

I realized (thanks to some very dear friends) that I had to take better care of myself. My husband and son doted on me. My mom buoyed me up from afar. I had to find a way to re-anchor myself in my faith. And….you guessed it….I remembered “oh, right….I do love my life”!

I then had the energy to come back out of my shell….to cook with my organic foods and whole foods…to rest when I could…to meditate and pray…to go for walks…and to LAUGH. Oh how good it feels to laugh!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

