My topic #40: What do you like to photograph (besides people)?

I love to think about the ocean when I am feeling: happy, sad, introspective, stressed, or anything else. Be aware that I grew up in the midwest, nowhere near the ocean. I spent my summers at lakes and on the Mississippi. I almost literally swam before I walked. I loved swimming, walking by the shore, sitting on the sand and watching the boats…I just loved the water. If I was having a difficult time I would close my eyes and go to my happy place (which generally involved the Mississippi River and a sandbar. Sometimes it meant going to a lake and sitting on a dock for my happy place. All of these were wonderful memories and fabulous happy places for me.

But a number of years ago I lived in south Jersey as the natives call it. I got spoiled…very spoiled. If traffic was light I could go from my front door to the sand on LBI in an hour and 15 minutes…..that close to heaven on earth. The town I preferred was Ship Bottom most of the time. Simple, quiet, no boardwalk, no rides—few tourist shops, and at least 2 wonderful restaurants for scallops. There was an abundance of large shells scattered about. I loved standing by the seashore and skipping them like stones. Anyway—this is my number one place!

So when it comes to photography, I could take endless photos of the ocean and shore, lighthouses, people playing in the ocean, fishing, whatever….at various times of day….the seagulls, various beachy stuff scattered on the sand. I love how the light is at various times of day at the seashore. Sometimes it makes things seem surreal and sometimes it makes things seem so real. [play on words, get it? 😉 ]

I love photographing plants, flowers, dune grass, desert grass, dune fences, docks, boulders, seagulls, waves, sunsets, sunrises…..shrubberies, lighthouses, picnic baskets, life guard chairs, towels hanging over the balcony, etc.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

