The precise moment when friendship is formed

I was thinking about friendship, and the many forms it takes. Then I stumbled upon this quote:

hopscotch

“We cannot tell the precise moment when friendship is formed. As in filling a vessel drop by drop, there is at last a drop which makes it run over; so in a series of kindnesses there is at last one which makes the heart run over”. – Ray Bradbury

Malcolm Gladwell would call that point the tipping point. I love to think about friendship and joy overflowing in abundance. I talked to an old friend today, and it was such a “walk by the shore”. She is one of my most cherished friends, and we have seen each other through decades of events, challenges, joys, sorrows. There are a few ya-yas in my life, and they are my touchstones.

Pattie and I became friends when our sons were pre-schoolers. It was really one of those almost instantaneous friendships.She knows my heart, my joys, sorrows, and her laughter is an oasis. She is magnificent. Precise moment when our friendship was formed? Perhaps the day she moved into my neighborhood. We live far away from each other now, and we have through most of our friendship; but we are never out of touch. Isn’t it a gift to know that a ya-ya has your back?

Of course, my other ya-yas will see this post. You know who you are, my cherished old friends.  Each day I am grateful. Although we are far away from each other, you are in my heart. You always make me feel welcomed, loved, cherished, and are a source of joy and laughter. In my mind, I am with each of my friends ~ sitting on a lovely beach, watching the sea gulls, and talking until dawn!

moms new wordpress photos 002

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The precise moment when friendship is formed

  1. So glad for you in having contact still, with childhood friends! :) I think friendships are a bit like growing trees. You plant a seed. It might or might not grow, but the beginning of all the friendships that DO develop is the same as those that don’t: It’s when that seed hits the soil. If conditions are right (rain, sunshine, no lawn mowers, etc.) then the friendship will keep on with the plan made for all seeds and become huge enough to see from far away. If not, then not. Friendships that don’t develop had the same starting time as those that do. But we notice and remember the ones that grew.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    If we have friendships like this we are so blessed.

Leave a Reply

