Less Than A Week Until the Election

I am copying most of a previous post into this post. But I want to precede that with some other bits of commentary. There is less than a week to go. The political ads have become even more vicious and spiteful. They have become more vicious, spiteful, and demeaning than I thought possible.

Between tropical storm Sandy and the countless political polls, it seems that both sides of every race are in a constant panic. I urge you not to get pulled into vicious sniping. We mustn’t. We have to live together after the election.

In matters of style, swim with the current;
In matters of principle, stand like a rock.~ Thomas Jefferson

Now, I am not posting today to lecture anyone about a particular candidate or position. We cannot even begin to think about candidates or positions until we know within ourselves and a society that we are a nation of laws, not of men. By that I mean that principles and truth really do matter.

Throughout our lives we struggle with wanting to fit in, wanting to be compassionate and caring. All of those things can be quite wonderful and desirable. But, in today’s parlance, at the end of the day, we have to be able to look ourselves in the mirror.

At the end of our lives, we must account for our lives. Even if the majority wants something, if the thing they want is wrong, and intrinsically evil, it is still wrong. Casting our vote for particular candidates or on particular issues is not always as simplistic as the candidates would have us believe, is it?

So as we continue to prepare our minds and hearts to vote, let us be careful and full of care for each other. Let us remember that we are on this well-traveled road together.  Yes, compromise is essential in order to have laws that have some of what each of us want. But laws are supposed to protect the weak and powerless from the strong and powerful.

. I truly hope that as we move beyond the election, and get back to the business of legislating, that we remember that we should protect the weak from the strong.  I hope that in your corner of the world that the cacophony of politics does not tear at the precious fabric or your heart and soul.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Less Than A Week Until the Election

  1. Well said Kate, hope everyone listens. I voted early, so now I simply switch channels or turn the rhetoric off altogether.

  2. I really appreciate this Kate. I have heard some of the most disturbing things said by others who seem to be afraid of outcomes and it made me very sad. I’m glad to read your thoughts!

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Amen Kate. No matter who is president Jesus is still King. We are called to further His Kingdom. Blessings!

  4. First off, hello stranger! I’ve missed you.
    Secondly, well said! It is a gift to live in a country where we can vote according to our conscious and respect others as they do the same. However, guarding my heart against the endless bickering and politicking is exhausting. Bring on November 7th!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Hi Mary~hope your week is going well. I know what you mean about guarding the heart. Oh boy, do I! I have missed you too, and have been wondering how your school year is going so far, and how your oldest daughter is faring on campus!

  5. gwen07 says:

    I have been so tied in knots as I am an inveterate newspaper reader – many papers over the course of the day – I’ve had to stop, change my start-up page and by all means stay away from the comment section. I have read some of the most hideous terms used to describe people of my ethnic culture and I am shocked at the fear and hatred. I’m trying hard to hold on to some faith in human nature – not reading newspapers makes it a bit easier. Thank you Kate for a bright spot of sanity in my day – I came so close to not opening my e-mail today.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gwen, my friend, I can see why that would make you lose faith in human nature. How horrible. I have gone through the same thing reading hideous terms about other things during this political season, so i understand, at least somewhat. I, too, have had to tune it out. It tears at the fabric of m heart and soul to see people reduced to hideous terms/terminology. The are shocking and they are wrong. Your strong spirit and principles, restore my faith in humanity. Each of us who stands for what is right and good counteracts the boneheads. thanks for commenting. hugs=kate

  6. TBM says:

    I’m always amazed by how nasty the campaigns get, but then when inauguration comes, power is handed over peacefully. I think John Adams was the only living president to skip handing the reigns over to the incoming president. He claims he had to catch an early coach or something.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      John Adams was such a character. Brilliant yet cantankerous….the peaceful transition of power is an essential starting point for progress as a society. I pray that all who want to vote get the chance to do so, and that every single bote is counted, and counted correctly.

  7. eof737 says:

    Sadly, there has been much that went on this election period that has left me cold and saddened… I pray that people will vote their conscience on Tuesday not on hate-mongering and lies… God bless America.

Leave a comment