Where to begin-part 2: Oasis


This is a week of reprieve and a bit of renewal. The events that have transpired, and your support, and God’s presence, have all been a welcome oasis for me.

Medicare honored our appeal, and is continuing to permit my mom to stay put and continue to receive physical therapy. This buys us a few weeks, and hopefully my mom will get stronger and improve. It isn’t a permanent solution, but it surely is a welcome oasis! I am so grateful for the support and prayers that all of my friends here have offered to me, and the ongoing prayers for my mom. Thank you so much. Your prayers have sustained me and continue to buoy me.

On Sunday, my cousin’s husband died. He had been diagnosed with end stage liver cancer and stomach cancer about a week before he died, so my cousin, her kids, her siblings and all of us cousins are stunned. I will get the glorious chance to be with that group of cousins as we lay him to rest on Saturday. We will come together and remember him. We will support each other, and connect. Those strengthening loving moments of being together will build memories for her and all of us–and those memories will sustain her and the rest of us.

These life challenges of late have been a bit of a marathon. But The love and support of friends and family, and the grace and love from God, have all helped me to stay out of despair. Today there have been moments of lightheartedness and silliness. . . and then today I saw this.: “If you want to win anything–a race, your self, your life — you have to go a little berserk”. So as I gather with some of my cousins this weekend, we may all go a little berserk—knowing that our ever present love for each other is some of the best stuff of life.

Again, I am grateful for your prayers, support, and advice….thank you so very much.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Where to begin-part 2: Oasis

  1. Sounds like you are in the eye of the storm! I feel so sorry for your cousin. Blessings on her. What an ordeal! If I had to go through something like that, though, I would want YOU beside me. In that way, she already is blessed.
    But, how wonderful you get a chance to visit your cousin before you must move your mom. Yes, a reprieve sounds just right, about now. <3

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Denise was my very first cousin in the whole world!! we are a year apart–and her folks are my godparents—her mom is one of my moms sisters. (all from the Margaret Barry Settlement House clan….the whole bunch is amazing…being with them in the face of a tragedy is strength-giving

      • I think re-grouping amidst family is going to be more of a blessing that it might usually be. Think of the strength you will absorb. And the inspiration. They will reach out to you as much as you to them. Is Denise’s mother, your mother’s sister, still living?
        Will any of your siblings be at the funeral? Praying for travel safety for you, Dearest.

  2. Sorry for your family’s loss. Sam

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Praying for you and your family Kate. May you all experience the peace that passes all understanding.

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    I’m thanking God with you, that Medicare honored the appeal. And I SO LOVE the “berserk” quote–that’s me all over!! I love you, Sis Kate–keeping the prayers flowing, and praise for Him Who is more than able, and mighty, to bring us through. sis Caddo

  5. Gilly Gee says:

    Dear Kate you really are being tested aren’t you? but you are so strong, wise and loving that you will get through. Love and peace, G.

  6. I know your strong faith will get you through these challenging times. It’s the season of our life watching parents age and turn frail and loved ones leave this earthly home. But God will sustain you and He hears each prayer. God bless, Kate!

  7. dorannrule says:

    A relief to know you have more time and your Mom has more time to heal. Your strength, your determination, your family and friends will get you through, and going berserk will definitely help too. :) Dor

  8. God keeps putting you on my heart for ongoing prayers, Kate… Blessings and strength in Him! :)

  9. Thinking of you and praying.

  10. With all the families of palliative care and other patients I have cared for, they’ve always been encouraged to let go, let it all out, go a little “berserk.” Berserk is good, Kate. Lean on the Lord and go a little nuts.

  11. Maria Tatham says:

    Cousinly love is unique and priceless, Kate!
    Prayers for you and her and all involved!

  12. niasunset says:

    I am sorry to hear this dear Kate, my prayers for you all. Love, nia

  13. Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry to hear of the death of your cousin’s husband. What a terrible shock to the whole family. I pray that tomorrow’s services will be a blessing. That’s a true answer to prayer about your mother’s situation at least not accelerating unwanted change! God is truly answering prayer. I won’t stop praying now! You still have a lot going on that is very emotionally draining without that support! oxo Debra

  14. fgassette says:

    I have nominated you for the Beautiful Bloggers Award. I hope you will pick it up here: http://wp.me/p23TG1-Pg

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  15. eof737 says:

    My condolences over your relative’s death and glad to read that your mom is getting a reprieve… WoW Kate, many of us are going through all sorts of changes lately. I just want to thank God for our lives and for his eternal mercies. Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

