I Know the Plans I Have For You, Says the Lord

Jeremiah 29:11- 15

Sometimes I awaken worried. Perhaps I had a bad dream. More likely, though, my list has gotten way too long and I don’t have enough time in my days. The more stressed I get, the less I accomplish. I become lie a kitten chasing its tail.

I don’t have a magic formula to solve it. We have all read the advice over and over: make a list; prioritize; get up earlier; don’t over-commit yourself; and be efficient. Yes all of these concepts can certainly help. Perhaps it is important to remember that getting things done is a lifelong process. It can be like paying off a lot of debt. No, you can’t do it all at once [unless you win the lottery]. But with your debts you can gradually pay off each bill a bit at a time in as committed a way as possible. Eventually you can pay it all down. Depending on how bad it is, it could take 10 years, 20 years or even more. Reminding yourself that you are making progress and even making a chart or graph of it can help you actually see your progress.

The same technique can be used for my things to do list. I have finally decided that if a particular part of the house, or pile of papers, or deadline is driving me crazy–then I will focus on that and try to address the problem. If I can get that done (or at least partway done) I will feel really good about that. Then, and here is the important part, I try not to beat myself up for the fact that I was unable to get every last item on my list done. Eventually I will get a lot done — and I need to believe that.

What does all of this have to do with optimism? Here it is: the messages you tell yourself impact your mood and self-image. This in turn, of course, affects how you see the world and how you interact with it.
Fear overwhelms me at times. My absolutely favorite Bible verse at those times is: “For I know well the plans I have in mind for you says the Lord, plans for your welfare, not for woe! plans to give you a future full of hope. When you call me, when you go to pray to me, I will listen to you. When you look for me you will find me. Yes, when you seek me with all your heart, you will find me with you, says the Lord, and bring you back to the place from which I have exiled you.” (Jerimiah 29: 11 – 15).

This week and next my students have final projects and final exams. Then after that, a number of them immediately start summer school. I feel overwhelmed—and I definitely need some space and time. so hopefully I will find a way to carve some out for myself. I know beyond a doubt that God will lift me and carry me through this. 

 

Having that strength of conviction of God’s love and protection lifts my heart, my soul, my spirit, my psyche. This in turn improves my approach to my marriage and to motherhood. Being a harsh and pessimistict judge of myself drags everyone down. Encouraging myself spills over into warmth and encouragement for my husband and son. So there you have it — Jeremiah and I are buddies today!

God is walking with me today — actually, I think God is skipping with me today. Perhaps we all need to skip a little bit each day—just for the fun of it!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Know the Plans I Have For You, Says the Lord

  1. Kathy says:

    This is the second time today someone has shared that verse with me. I think He’s speaking to me..

  2. Gilly Gee says:

    I hope you get some of that well deserved space when term ends!

  3. Walking all day every day right inside our hearts ~Love Sue xx

  4. As Kathy said, above, it is the second time for me, too. Lately this has been one of my favorite verses because while reading in Jeremiah, I discovered something about this verse we love so much:
    THE CONTEXT!!!
    Israel was at its lowest, in this setting. They had totally blown it and were in exile. False prophets were saying it would be a short time, but God was saying to settle in, it would be 70 YEARS, get used to it.
    BUT, then would come His deliverance, His plans to bless them, in verse 11ff.
    There is so much hope in that. So much hope.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh gosh, you are so right. The context is essential. So many times we do get bogged down and want difficulties to be over with instantaneously. But of course, they are not. It takes strong, tenacious faith to keep in mind that He will deliver, He will be steadfast. We must cling to His promises and know that He always blesses and delivers. Thank you for the reminder.

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    Yay! Skipping! I love that Jeremiah verse too!! God bless you today, Kate–love, sis Caddo

  6. Patricia says:

    For me, this is a perfect and timely post.

    Thank you, Kate.

    Patricia

  7. Skipping and singing right beside you all the way! I so love to find a post from you. You somehow seem to write just what I need to hear.God guides my visit with perfect timing. Simply amazing!

  8. misswhiplash says:

    The Lord tells us this all the time….do not worry ..I know your worries..just leave them with me. So this is what I do and it works somehow.

    Also thank you Kate about the post on ‘comments’ ..for some reaso I could not get your page but i am eternally grateful that someone sorted it out

  9. One of my favorite passages, too, Kate. Skipping! I like that image :-) Sometimes when I’m really stressed with too many deadlines and concerns for how to do it all, I deliberately slow down, rather than speed up. I make fewer mistakes and miscalculations and staying alert I sometimes discover that some of what I thought was so important suddenly seems less so! Having time to yourself is very important just to maintain a good listening ear to hear what God is saying! Doing more doesn’t usually work for me! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Debra~that is excellent advice. I sometimes tell my students that. They at times make, as they call it, “dumb mistakes”, on their math tests. With them I tell them to breathe slowly and deliberately, and to try to finish their test last or second to last. They often are the ones rushing through the test. so definitely speeding up and rushing around increases stress levels. thank you for the excellent reminder!

  10. Pingback: Just For Today | KEVIN NUNEZ

  11. eof737 says:

    Thanks for this… I needed to hear it. ;-)

Leave a Reply

