(Award)Alphabet Soup

Jay’s favs on 2/25 awarded me with the ABC award way, way back in February. http://jayjaysfavorites.wordpress.com/2012/02/ . It stands for Awesome Blog Content. {Just to be clear it isn’t the alphabet soup award; I just thought that would make a clever headline!}

I very beleatedly thank her for the kind recognition. Things just get away from me sometimes. Now, I need to list 26 things about me in alphabetical order. I chose to blog about 26 places that interest me. And then I need to also pass this award on to 10 people…..(When you accept the award, link to this post).

A: Atlanta, GA is a city I have always wanted to visit~largely because of my love for Gone With the Wind. My hubby and I would also love to visit Australia!
B: Boston, MA-when I was first married we lived in southern NH and worked in the greater Boston area. I loved it there—especially because of the historical sites and the seafood.
C: Chicago, IL – oh yeah, that fabulous, toddling town. I lived there from mid-soph year of HS until I finished college. My sweet hubby lived there his whole life prior to Chicago. The musuems, the sports, the architecture, the people, the lakefront, the restaurants, the vibe of the city—spectacular. I’d also like to re-visit the coast of Maine (C for Coast).
D: Detroit~it is a city that is hurting now, but during my pre-marriage career I worked there for a few years. It was a great place to live.
E: Eagan, MN – that is a suburb of Minneapolis and is located next to where my hubby and I lived when we lived in that part of the world. My aunt and uncle are still there. It’s a nice suburb.
F: France~how could I possibly say anything else for F? I took Spanish in HS and French my Freshman year of college. I thought it would be cheating to keep taking Spanish since I had already had it. French was really difficult for me. 2 years later I visited Paris during my semester in Rome. Paris is spectacular.
G: Germany~my husband and I visited my brother and his wife when they were stationed Stuttgart. What a gorgeous country~and my husband is part German-American, too.
H: Hawaii~Hawaii became a state when I was a pre-schooler. My mom was a stewardess before I was born and she flew to Hawaii. That is where my parents honeymooned, too. someday I hope to see Hawaii.
I: Iowa, Indiana, and Illinois. My dad was born in Iowa and moved to MN in HS. I lived in IL in HS. I went to college in South Bend, IN and later worked in Indianapolis. If you want to know what my college years were like, watch the movie Rudy. He was at ND and I was at the sister school St. Mary’s. Rudy, my husband, and I all graduated the same year.
J: Jesus. He is my everything.
K: K-k-k-katie—-that’s me.
L: Love~What the world needs now is love sweet love. It also stands for lakes—because I love being in and around the water. L also stands for Long Beach Island, NJ—my favorite beach and my favorite seafood restaurant are located here.
M: Minnesota~I truly love MN. I was born and raised there~a chunk of my heart will always be there. My husband and I also lived there for 3 years. I loved the weather, the terrain, the people,…I have loved everywhere I have lived, of course. But MN will always be special.
N: Nashua, NH~my husband and I lived there right after we got married. It was lovely and it was the first town that was just ours. We had no pre-established friends already living there, and no family either.
O: Onomatopoeia ~ Now I realize this isn’t a place. Boom! Crash!Zoom! It is a way of life! As far as places are concerned, I would also list Oklahoma City, OK. I have visited the memorial there and found it to be profoundly moving.
P: Pittsburgh, PA ~ When we lived in Columbus, OH area and a dear friend of mine was (and is) living in northern PA, we met with our kids for a long weekend in Pittsburgh. We took in the museums, zoo, a few restaurants, solved all the world’s problems and had a few time. It also stands for the Phoenix, AZ area. Love it here!
Q: Quilt shops~I have enjoyed making quilts for years, and discovered some fabulous quilt shops and fabrics over the years. I haven’t made a quilt for a few years now, but hope to get back to doing that.
R: Ranches ~ a few years ago we visited some ranches in Wyoming and met some truly amazing people.
S: St. Paul, MN ~ my husband taught at St. Thomas University for a year (in St. Paul, MN). It was a lovely year for us~an idyllic restorative time after the loss of our little daughter. Just what the doctor ordered.
T: Texas~ when we moved to AZ from OH, one of my dear friends and I drove the cars and pets across the country. We stopped in Texas for lunch ~ there were cowboys and friendly folk all over the place.
U: Ubiquitous~ don’t you just love that word? If I was going to start a little town and name it, I think I would name it Ubiquitous, just because I love the sensation of saying that word. By the way, I also love the word Unmitigated. perhaps I could start two towns!!
V: Victoria, B.C. ~ that is a place I have never been, but would love to visit! I would love to see that and Prince Edward Island for all of those Anne Of Green Gables reasons.
W: Winona, MN ~ a town I lived in for a number of years as a kid. This was absolutely the PERFECT town to be a young kid. I fell in love with the library for the first time in this town. Small town of about 20,000 including the students at the 2 colleges in the town! Civic minded, education oriented, fabulous town.
X: Xenia, OH. Now I have never lived in that town. My family moved to Columbus, OH right after I finished college. A few years before there had been a devastating tornado in Xenia, OH that killed a lot of people and destroyed huge parts of the town. Every year since then, during tornado season, they show the scenes from that tragic event to drive home the necessity of seeking shelter during a tornado.
Y: Yards~backyards, front yards, side yards; these were all special places for me and my friends when I was a child. I was determined that our son would have those special places too. Places where, on a summer day you lie on your back and figure out what shapes the clouds make; places where at twilight, flashlights come out and flashlight tag is played. Places where the moms sit and watch the kids play; the moms become lifelong friends, laugh, pour their hearts out, bandage the kids; and they always have each others’ backs. When you have that it is idYllic.
Z: Zermatt, Switzerland. Although I have been to Switzerland (Lucerne, and a few other places) with my husband….stayed in hostels, ate on the cheap but garnered a pocketful of lovely memories….I haven’t been to Zermatt. I have only seen the posters. It is one of those places on our bucket list, but will have to wait until we have seen Australia, and New Zealand.

So that is my A to Z. Here are 10 bloggers that are wonderful to have on your special list:

  1. “Mirth and Motivation” http://eof737.wordpress.com/ ~ Elizabeth has a fabulous blog. A trip through her blog will teach, inspire, refresh, and renew you!
  2. Jean at Moonlightened Shelves http://moonlightenedshelves.wordpress.com/. I must confess, she had me hooked from the start with the name of her magical blog.
  3. danLrene http://workthedream.wordpress.com/. She is a constant source of information. Her posts are fabulous–do visit!
  4. Dianna at http://thesedaysofmine.com/. My, my, if you love lovely scenery, gorgeous photography, stories of her lovely family and just wonderful commentary…you need to see her blog. She is amazing.
  5. http://northernnarratives.wordpress.com/. My special love for MN drew me to her blog. My over the moon reaction to her blogs keeps me there. Boy oh boy does she have a great eye for beauty.
  6. http://livingtheseasons.com/. I have to say this blog is one of THE places to be. She always has her camera with her and captures amazing things with her camera. She has so much blogging, photagraphy, and writing expertise. Spending time in her living the seasons, is absolute heaven. She is always happy to help with questions and actually is proactive and posts helpful hints here and in her other blog http://dogear6.com/.
  7. http://anglersrest.blogspot.com/. I just found this blog last week when she found me. One of the things that drew me in is that she has some very cool recipes. Great place to visit!
  8. Kathy’s blog is one of the first I found when I entered blog land. I found her because she had written about a Betsy Tacy Convention. that book series was beloved by me. The books take place in a little town in MN which was very much like Winona, MN where I lived when I discovered the books. The star of the books (Betsy) wanted to be a writer. Betsy Ray and Jo March inspired and inspire me to write.  Go see Kathy’s blog: http://havinsnest.com/. She is an amazing, loving, Christian, Texan woman.
  9. Nandini: http://nandinidhiman.wordpress.com/. Oh my, her photography is amazing, too. Please do yourselves a favor and stop in there if you haven’t seen her work.
  10. http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/. Now~if you are ready for some inspiration, rock-solid advice, strategic planning for your spiritual and emotional journey—visit here and visit often….amazing woman, amazing blog.

That is my list of 10. Fortunately you can also click on my awards tags and categories and see some of my other lists, too. Why? Because you will of course love the 10 I listed above. You will also love my other recommendations. Why? Every blog I read is just fabulous. So thanks to everyone who works on their blogs and creates another beautiful world. Isn’t it heartwarming to know that somewhere in the world we are each sharing our hearts? Thanks for reading today, and thanks for so much more.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to (Award)Alphabet Soup

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    This is so terrific, Kate! I love your “O” and “U” words–I may have to steal your idea, and put a town called Ubiquitous in my novel–I so love that!! So, do you know Cloquet, MN? I lived there for 9 years of my childhood– God bless you today, and always.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      We visited Cloquet briefly. My husband and I did a last minute get-away to Duluth. Didn’t have reservations. Searched everywhere in Duluth and nearby for hotels. Drove down to Cloquet—noting there either. It turned out the closest hotels with reservations were International Falls, and Northfield. We headed back to our apartment in Burnsville and stayed for free. What little we saw of that town was lovely! Did you ever go to Winona?

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Not that I recall, but childhood seems at least a world away, now. I’ll have to fill you in some time–but in email. God bless you.

  3. Dianna says:

    Wow, Kate – thanks so much for another award! It’s going to take me awhile to put together 26 “alphabetical” things about myself, but I’ll start working on it right away!
    Have a good day!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      As you can see it takes me FOREVER to put together award posts and pass them on. I love to pass them on, but figuring out when, how, and who, I get bogged down. Why? I check up on all the bloggers I follow and then it becomes like a scene out of the movie “Up” where the dogs hear the squirrel….I say “ooh that’s a cool photo/post/bit of info…then I scroll around that blog and catch up or review other posts”….and I do that with each blog I visit. LOL. Before I know it I have totally forgotten that I was supposed to be accumulating a list of blog URLs and a BRIEF missive about each….then I think….hmmm…is there someone I have overlooked? then i start searching all over again….so yeah~ take your time!!

  4. thank you Kate…what a remarkable variety of places you’ve visited and lived!…ubiquitous, indeed…. : )

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I have moved many, many times….and was fortunate enough to spend a semester in Italy during college. I saw a lot of places in a short period of time because I got a Eurail Pass. Then when my brother and his wife were stationed in Germany, my husband and I went over for 2 weeks. and we got rail passes again so we could travel around. And You so deserve the award….love your blog.

  5. Nandini says:

    Thanks so much for Kate for nominating me here and writing those special words about my blog and photography. I loved them! Thanks. :)

  6. Pingback: The ABC Award (Awecome Blog Content Award) « Work the Dream

  7. Judy says:

    Kate….I totally forgot about the award….one of the hazards of “growing up”. ;)
    You did a fabulous job of sending it onward! I love your ABC’s and your Alphabet soup!
    Congrats again to you….I”m glad I chose you and I’m glad we’ve become friends through our blogs too!

  8. K k..k..k Katiet Congrats! Although I have been negligent of late seeing a post from you in my mail is always like finding sunshine in a dark corner of the garden.
    Amazing details of your life, thanks so much for sharing them.

  9. Pingback: My ABC’s | these days of mine

  10. Pingback: Awesome Blog Content « To Talk of Many Things

  11. Lyn says:

    I found your blog via Kathy’s at havinsnest.com I’m enjoying the looksie around your place. God bless.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Hi Lyn~ Kathy’s blog is wonderful; I just love reading about all the things going on in her life. Thanks for stopping in, and I hope you come back! God bless you, too.

  12. Kathy says:

    Thank you. I am honored. :)

  13. eof737 says:

    Congratulations on your award and TY for including my blog… I appreciate it very much! ;-)

  14. Thanks again for the award. Having now got to the end of the A-Z Challenge I wrote my ABC Award post with this in mind. You can read the post http://anglersrest.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/abc-award.html

Leave a Reply

