Now you know my ABCs

Have you heard there is a newly created Award called the ABC award. I received it from Debbie at http://twominutesofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/singing-the-abcs/. It stands for Awesome Blog Content. I thank you so much for that Debbie. What an interesting award! Part of its purpose is for the recipient to share things about him/herself so people can know him/her better.

It originated at this site: http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/abc-award/. She created it as a lovely gesture to reach out to bloggers and build community. Please go to her link to read all about it. It stands for the Awesome Blog Content Award. I thank her for creating such a lovely award. Here are the pictures. The badge with the URL is in my sidebar (for the small badge). The URL for the big badge is at the site where the award was created.

The task of letting people get to know me better  is accomplished by coming up with a word for each letter of the alphabet about yourself. So here goes :-)

A= artistic (to a certain extent); B= believer (I believe in God, people, love, joy, and fresh beginnings); C= companionable and caring; D= dedicated. I am a dedicated hard worker. I work tirelessly for causes I believe in. E= espresso (like espresso coffee and i like to work and write in the ‘express lane’…sometimes with disastrous results; F= family oriented, friend, and faith; G= God—the center of my life, and goodness and gentleness; H=humble heart—I have a deep and humble heart that tries to look out for the hearts of others.; I = insert foot [as in open mouth insert foot]—yeah, despite my best efforts I sometimes speak or write first and fully think later; J-jokes; sometimes i like to break the tension with a joke or two; K- Kate–that’s me!; L-ladylike. I am not one to enjoy racy jokes,photos, sites, movies or the like; M-musical I like to sing (not on stage), I like musicals [plays and movies]. They make me happy. N- numismatics was  the first vocabulary word I learned in school that I fell in love with because I liked the sound of it. O-Ostriches. Every spring in a neighboring town they have an ostrich festival. At that festival they have a race track. Jockeys actually ride on the race track while the ostriches run around the track. They run about 65 miles an hour and they look absolutely hilarious running around that track. P-pencil-girl could be a nickname. I enjoy working algebraic equations just for fun. Q-quilter. I love making quilts. But I assemble the top by machine, and then pin it together (basting it with pins) with the filler and the back. I sew it together around the perimeter– then I hand tie it.  R-Reason. I prefer that people reason together and find a middle ground rather than stand shouting from opposite corners. S-Sensitive. I am sensitive and try to be sensative to other people’s feelings. Sometimes I end up saying something stupid, though. T-Taylor (as in James Taylor). My husband and went to the James Taylor concert for our very first date. U-Umbrella–I think there is room for many under the ‘umbrella’ in life. It is only those who demean and divide who cannot fit. V-vigorous and vote: I vigorously defend the system and devote time to ensure that the quest for good leaders and the involvement of citizens in the process. W- wishful. I wish for brighter tomorrows, kinder people, forgiveness for faults, and enveloping love. X-Hmm either X-ray for I cannot see through people, since I haven’t got x-ray vision—or X as in (e)xcellence. I have always believed there are no shortcuts to excellence. Y-York peppermint patties – I Love them. and Z-Zenith. The Zenith of effort and trying is  when in turn, more people believe in and are committed to the process. When we do that, joy and renewal cannot be far behind.

After all my award distributing mania of the past two weeks, I am passing the ABC award on to these 2 blogs: http://hurtlingtowards60.wordpress.com and http://sarsm.wordpress.com/.  Both worthy  of the Awesome Blog Content Award.

if i am allowed to give it out to more blogs later, i will. for now, the blizzard of award reporting and giving will rest. Now I can shovel the walkway ;-)

I am adding Jackie Paulson at http://postadaychallenge2011.com/. She is always a leader, tremendously gifted writer/blogger, and has a loving, giving heart of gold. If you haven’t visited her blog, do yourself a favor and head over there!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Now you know my ABCs

  1. ferragudofan says:

    what lovely choices for your alphabet! and I am so pleased to see my little award being shared across blogland!
    and now I have your lovely blog that I can enjoy too! :)
    PS – I set it up so that you can share it with as many people as you like!
    love Alyson

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Alyson—and I will pass it on to others. I have been doing a lot of award distribution lately—and I am going to wait about a week before passing it on again. your award is wonderful and lovely

  2. megtraveling says:

    Congratulations on getting this award!

  3. Debbie says:

    Hurray Kate! Just as I suspected, I’ve learned much about you from your alphabet! I would love to drink a cup of espresso with you at the ostrich festival! ;)
    Debbie

  4. Kate! I’ve just awarded you the MDS award: Most Decorated Site!
    Ha–just kidding! :-D
    You do attract a following, though, with your lovely optimism.
    So glad we met, not so long ago, although it seems like we’ve known each other a long time.
    Loved the list! <3

    • Kate Kresse says:

      dang you scared me….i feel like all i’ve done is write about awards…beginning to feel like TMZ and People Magazine are headed here. I don’t deserve the attention. im so glad you found me and i found you and God is with us and—love to you…did you see the Hallmark Hall of Fame movie on ABC tonight?

      • HA! Made you look! :)
        I know it is hard to meet the requirements of the awards, but you and I both know it serves another purpose we just cannot yet see. So be glad, if tired, and realize you are onto something that has grown larger than yourself. Isn’t it amazing, that we could sit in AZ or AR and do something that makes a difference! That we could do our part to balance out some of the evils on the Internet, or whatever it is that we are doing . . .
        No, I did not see TV last night. We never did watch TV much, and after they made everyone buy new ones, we just decided to be satisfied with DVDs. The news is always skewered so you feel awful for watching it, the shows are just horrible, and the rest will be for sale at Wal-Mart in a year or two. :-|
        Besides, we hardly have the time.
        But it all started with not having junk pouring into our house through that box. We just never turned it on and it did not match my decor and was a mighty dust magnet. Three strikes . . . :) For ages we just kept a small portable in a closet for when we felt like watching a movie. The rest of the world got along just fine without us babysitting it. Ha.
        Also, if it’s on, I cannot concentrate on what I need to be doing. I keep gravitating toward it. I know some people keep a set on for company–I’d be glued to it and never do anything. Simply cannot walk past a show and keep going. You should see me in the electronics dept. at any store! :) It embarrasses my kids!
        But, what was on at Hallmark? Was it good? I mean, you asked for a reason . . . I’m sure there are good things that we miss, sometimes, and I love hearing all about good things. <3

        • Kate Kresse says:

          It was a Hallmark Hall of Fame movie on ABC. “A Smile as Big as the Moon’. So inspirational. It was the true story of a teacher and his special education HS students (from Michigan). He and they got to go to Space Camp in Huntsville.AL. They were the first to get to go. It’s our in Hallmark stores today. It was VERY wonderful and inspirational. Oh my gosh. what a wonderful story.

          And yes–I do so appreciate the awards–especially since it gives me the chance to pass them on to others, give them some recognition and encouragements and build community. I was concerned that people would be weary of me posting about my receiving awards…

          Yes indeed, God works through us…we are His handmaidens. My purpose is to provide a counter to the negativity and bad in the world….I will put a post up later about the movie….i LOVE a good, inspirational movie ….

  5. sarsm says:

    Thank you so very much Kate!! I really, really appreciate this.

    Reading through your list I can we have a few common traits.

    I love your ‘P’!!

  6. I love this! I could reveiw this everyday, and concentrate on one letter each day and be encouraged!

  7. Pingback: On My Sesame Street Today’s Letter is All of Them! | Believe Anyway

  8. Bee says:

    York Peppermint Patties…now I know why you are so sweet!!
    Bee well…and congratulations :)

  9. Alyson says:

    Congratulations on your ABC Award!
    You may be interested to know that I have now set up a Facebook group for all bloggers who have been given the ABC Award – a place for you to meet new bloggers, and share and support each other. You can join the group here:

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ABCaward/?bookmark_t=group

    Please also let any other bloggers, that you know have been given the award, know about this group too – then we can all ‘spread the word’
    I have also set up a Facebook page – the ABC Award – where you can now add links to all of your blog posts and writing – share your work with a new audience, gain new readers, and find out what other ABC Award bloggers are writing about.
    You can find the page here:

    https://www.facebook.com/ABCaward?bookmark_t=page

    Just ‘like’ the page and get started – and do let all your blog readers know about this page – I believe that all of our blogs can only be improved by letting our readers know about other blogs – that way you will also have new readers discover you too!
    Happy blogging – and congratulations again on the ABC Award – you’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

