Joy-Forwarding Project: Exciting Refocus!

I announced the launch of the Joy-Forwarding Project on 1/8/2012. The badge is on the right sidebar of this page. I will be running it on a separate blog/website which is:http://joyforwardingproject.com/. As of 1/25/2012 it is up and ready to go.

http://joyforwardingproject.com/2012/01/25/how-the-joy-forwarding-project-is-going-to-work/ explains it all.

I have really struggled with the best way to approach the Joy-Forwarding Project. I have been trying to think of, for instance weekly prompts, etc. Then my friend Katharine Trauger  from http://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/ suggested the following. “instead of challenging us to spread joy, why not challenge us to REPORT on how we already did (past tense) spread joy?

For instance, I have already put your new badge on my blog: Ding.
I plan to give a bouquet to our local librarian, who is diabetic so I cannot give her brownies: Nice thought, but no ding–not done yet. Get it?
In fact, you could challenge us to provide a photo, too, or else it didn’t happen. ;-)

That is what we are going to do for now. About once a week I will put a post up on the other site http://joyforwardingproject.com/ so people can comment on it. But generally speaking, you can each share what you did to forward joy. Obviously, as you share people will be able to gain ideas from each other.  Love the concept…..and I am so very relieved. This has been weighing on me, as I didn’t want to be bossy—yet I wanted people to be creative and feel supported by whoever wants to participate. So share how you forwarded joy this week….and I do challenge you to include a photo to show that you Joy-Forwarded :-).

Thanks for the idea, Katharine. It dovetails perfectly with what I think will work best for all of our giving hearts.

I will attempt to put a reminder or link up here on Believe Anyway reminding people of the new challenge for the week. Click over and look, okay?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Joy-Forwarding Project: Exciting Refocus!

  1. You are so welcome, Kate!
    I got the idea from a pastor who used to announce after the service, “I’d like all the men who’ve led family devotions this week to meet up here for a minute or two.” Then he would hold just the briefest meeting, designed to encourage these dear men in their leadership of the family’s spiritual dynamic. Well, at first,only one man met with him, but it did NOT take long for them to realize they needed to get with it if they wanted to be in that meeting, and soon almost all the men were meeting with the pastor after service for just a minute or two of encouragement. The crowd fed the crowd. It worked.
    I hope it will work, here, too. Cannot wait.
    However, I think topics would also help. I think the photo-challenge topics from wp might be easy to incorporate. This week the topic was “simple” and we could find someone really simple to give joy to, including someone who was simple-minded, which we have plenty of in every locale, I suppose. Or we could give a simple joy. As long as it was just a suggestion, who would feel pressured?
    Just more ideas. :)

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Katharine–you are full of wonderful, life-affirming ideas. I was so blocked about how to do this….it is hard, sometimes, to explain or suggest how to do something or what to do. There are things in my life that are such an integral part of me that i cannot stop and figure out how to explain how to do them. However ‘idea starters’ will give proper impetus to all of us. Love it, Katharine!!

  2. TBM says:

    I love this idea…and maybe bloggers can inspire others on nice things to do

    • Kate Kresse says:

      me tooo! Thaat is the simple, wondrous, brilliant beauty of Katharine’s idea. I can’t tell you how much I prayed that a terrific “impetus-idea” would be revealed. It isn’t the first, and won’t be the last time that Katharine has been/will be an answer to my prayers. I think that anyone who discovers the project will gain from sharing their experiences.

  3. Pingback: More Awards ☀ ღ ✌ ђคթթץ « MindBlur

  4. hi Kate, I found you because my idea-to-explore for the month is joy. it’s fun to see the idea evolving! I have some more practical ideas but, for the moment, here are a couple of sites to en-joy.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y90-R9uyjIQ is a simple song/video called Spread Joy.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5oFOC2FHydI is a result of a cool project where New Zealanders captured the sounds of joy and Bobby McFerrin made it into music.
    Should I be posting comments here or on the Joy Forwarding Project page?
    glad I found you!
    –(Another) Kate

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Hi Kate–I ‘d say post on this site: I am trying to devote a separate site to Joy-Forwarding I have been trying to get this all worked out for the past few weeks. click on the badge in my right sidebar, and it will take you there. i will get to those youtube sites ASAP. Glad to hear from you, Kate!

  5. Pingback: How to Join the Joy-Forwarding Project | Believe Anyway

Leave a Reply

