Why is it hard to admit to a mistake? Daily Post Topic # 338

Why is it hard to admit to a mistake?. Oh gosh it is hard to admit mistakes sometimes, isn’t it? A very wise person once told me that it stems from pride. Yeh, that wise person was my  dad. He and mom were pretty much right about almost everything. I mean that most sincerely, I really do. That was such a safety net for me. If I asked for their advice and opinion and followed their advice wholeheartedly, things almost always turned out just fine. Eventually (after lots of years, listening, and trying) I learned the wisdom they sought to pass on to me. Whew! Thank goodness for that.

When I do make a mistake or screw things up I often am tempted to “make excuses” or “justify my decision or action”….rather than just say “I was wrong”. However, regarding arguments/disagreements with my husband, we both follow the sage advice my parents gave us right before we got married. They said when one of us is wrong, that person should sincerely say, multiple times in a row “You were right, I was wrong”. That simple exercise has kept us both willing to admit our mistakes. Because along with that sincerity comes the other part. The other person must be a big boy or big girl, accept the apology and forgive. If they aren’t at the point yet where they can forgive, they say “i’m not quite ready to forgive yet”. But that readiness soon does follow.

I think if I followed that sage advice with everyone—and felt safe to do so—it would be easier to admit to a mistake. What does God call me to do? Admit it anyway. Yep, you are right! God is my light. and my salvation. Whom shall I fear?

God is my light and my salvation

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Misc blogger activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why is it hard to admit to a mistake? Daily Post Topic # 338

  1. auntyuta says:

    I like this blog very much, Kate. It’s a wonderful lesson for life!

  2. Love this!

    I tell my kids that they can’t take credit for the good stuff if they don’t take responsibility for the mistakes.

  3. We have a funny phrase we say around here, if the mistake was not too big or tragic, “Ooops! First mistake I ever made!” at which we are supposed to snicker and say “sure.”

Leave a Reply

